My very first post.

OK, so since this is my very first blog post I guess I should explain what this will be all about. Basically, this will be a bit like a diary record of my attempt to get my very first novel published.

It doesn’t sound like it will be easy, from what I’ve read in other blog posts and on various websites. But I plan to try anyway.

So, this is where I am currently at. I’ve finished the first draft of my manuscript. An achievement that I am ridiculously proud of, regardless of whether I eventually get it published or not. I have given it to several people to read. (Mostly just close friends, because I knew that if they didn’t like it they would be gentle, but honest, in their responses.) They claim to have liked it, so I’m taking that as a sign to continue.

Now I’m at that tricky stage of trying to improve and edit my first draft into something resembling an actual novel. Did you know it’s incredibly hard to edit yourself? Well, it is for me anyway! I’m starting to research editorial services online. Trying to get an idea of whether it’s something I should utilise. I’ll let you know what I decide!

Anyway, that’s a quick introduction into what this blog is for. I hope you enjoy reading it. And if you happen to be in a similar boat to me, maybe we will be able to help each other out. This is a massive learning curve and I feel like it’s only just starting!

Leave a Reply

