Things I didn’t know about this writing/publishing thing part 3

Ok by now I’m starting to feel pretty dumb. Every day I seem to learn a new thing that I never knew before. Which means that this time last year I basically knew absolutely nothing about writing a half decent book or about getting it published. So here’s a round up of what I’ve learned this week!

Filler words are a big fat no no. See, if you’re like me, you never even noticed them sneaking into your manuscript, doing absolutely nothing useful except bumping up that all important word count. Words like ‘had’ and ‘that’ that just wriggle their way into every other sentence, sitting there innocently but contributing nothing to the plot. So just picture me now, abusing the search function on Word (good job I’m a big fan of searching haha) weeding out all those useless filler words to see which can stay and which ones have got to go. It might take a while….

The second thing I’ve realised this week is that just because you’re in a hurry it doesn’t mean everyone else is linked to your timeline. If you’ve read my last post you’ll know I had to apply for a copyright licence to use some song lyrics. And yeah, I’ll admit it took me a while to send over the files they needed, mostly because I thought my synopsis sucked and spent about a week trying to manipulate it into something resembling a decent summary of my book. I still think I pretty much failed on that. But that was over two weeks ago, and I’m still waiting for a response. Just in case you didn’t know, I can’t publish without it or they can probably sue me. Not that I have anything to give them. Patience is a virtue though, Right? Gonna have to admit I may not be very virtuous!

I’ve come to realise that when I decided to go down the self publishing route I was severely unprepared. It took many hours  of searching the internet to figure out what I’d have to do and what I would need. Once I got my little list together, I tried to do it all myself. Like a total idiot. Linking back to the last couple of posts I did, self-editing is impossible for me, and Photoshop is the work of the devil that nearly ended the life of my laptop. Luckily, some amazing people have stepped in to help me out with this stuff. (Thanks guys!!) So anyway, the next thing on that list now that the editing part is almost over is formatting. And boy, am I clueless!! It doesn’t help that there is conflicting advice everywhere I turn. Wonder if there is a Formatting for Idiots guide out there somewhere???
But, to end this ramble on a positive note, it’s almost finished! In the not too distant future I’ll be able to say I’ve published a book and this whole crazy learning curve will have been so worth it.

Leave a Reply

