When excitement turns to soul-numbing fear…

It’s the second you realise that you’re finished, and that means there is nothing, absolutely nothing, that can prevent you from finally showing the world what you’ve achieved. That’s when all the excitement and anticipation of reaching this moment finally turns into a debilitating fear. Suddenly, you’re ready. It’s no longer a daydream used to while away the hours at work. It’s a reality.

It doesn’t matter what the ‘it’ might be. For me, it’s obviously my novel, but it could be anything. Anything that you have created and spent months of hard work on. The thing that keeps you up at night, the thing you have literally cried over. Up until this point, it all still seemed like it would never actually happen, that I was kidding myself. That I would never actually publish a book and what the hell was I thinking, believing that I was ever actually gonna do it?

Well, here I am. I’ve just finished the last few changes that needed to be made, and sent it back for one final approval from my lovely editor. Then it’s a quick proof read by some willing volunteers and it’s actually finished. I should be excited, right?

Then someone please explain the fear I feel. It’s such a scary thought, putting it out there for the world to read. For the world to judge. That fear has actually led to me procrastinating over finishing it for the last week. But I’ve come to realise that was actually ridiculous. Yeah, some people will hate it. Some people will probably write scathing reviews about how books have gone downhill since any Tom, Dick or Harry could publish a novel themselves. Or, possibly worse, no-one will even read it. (I’m not sure which of those two outcomes are the one I dread more…)

My point is, and I swear I actually have one, that life is too damn short to let fear get in the way of you doing something you have always wanted to do. I know it sounds like a cliché, that phrase. But it is so true. You never know what is waiting for you around the corner, and I for one don’t want to regret being too afraid to follow my dreams.

The fear will always be there, but I have to just put on my big-girl pants and suck it up. Or spend the rest of my life regretting not taking the chance. It’s a no-brainer,  really.

Image result for fear quotes

 

3 thoughts on “When excitement turns to soul-numbing fear…

  1. Congrats on nearly finishing your novel! This is sound advice. I can totally relate this as I’m currently working on a novel for publication too.

    Like

    1. Thanks! Good luck with yours 😀 it’s the longest, hardest thing I’ve ever done but it’s going to be amazing seeing my name on an actual book cover 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

