The Next Steps 

The picture says it all really. As anyone that either knows me or has read my blog will know, I’ve recently self-published my very first book, The Fated. Which in itself was a huge learning curve that taught me so much about the world of writing and publishing. But now it’s all done, I’m moving into another unknown: marketing. 

Now, I’m completely new to all of this. So the challenge of getting my book out there and read by people feels like a giant mountain that I have to try and climb, when I’m wearing flip flops. I’m completely unprepared for this task! I genuinely don’t even know where to start. I’m not going to lie, it’s taken me three weeks to figure out how to set up my author page on Amazon. Or, more accurately, to even realise I needed to do that. Not the best start. 

I have come to the conclusion that I have hours of Google searching ahead of me, and a lot to learn if I want to get people reading and reviewing my book. So far, the response has been pretty good but it’s mostly from friends and friends of friends. I’m really eager to get a few more people reading it, whether they love it or hate it or don’t really care for it either way. (Although to be honest, the first time someone says they hate it I will probably curl up in the foetal position with a family-sized bar of chocolate questioning my choice to write!) 

One positive is that I finally have a professional looking website that has been set up for me thanks to an actual pro, (thanks, Paul!) And I feel like that is a big step in the right direction. So maybe I’m now trying to climb my mountain in slightly more suitable footwear. 

Leave a Reply

